Four steps to success

In addition to our well-known StartGocal Academy workshops, business idea competitions, and many start-up events we host during the semesters, we are constantly offering personal start-up coaching for our university students and staff members. We have scouts and coaches in all four faculties and university departments who are always looking for innovative ideas and passionate entrepreneurs.

Putting an idea on paper and creating a first prototype is easier said than done. However, we are here to support you! We use an iterative coaching process that you can follow alongside your studies or job.

It all starts with your idea and courage to talk about it! Let us know about your idea, so we can turn it into a working business model.

The most important step is to start

Found a start-up

Do you have an innovative start-up idea?
Great! We are here to help you.

Start your business

Join a start-up

You don’t have an idea, but love to work in a start-up?
We maintain a Moodle course with advertised projects.

Enrol in our matchmaking platform

Step 1

Compile your idea

Explain your business idea and describe your product or service. We ask you to specify your innovative idea, the problem you aim to solve, the solution you have to that problem, the values you propose to your customers, and the customer segments you are targeting.

Step 2

Apply for start-up coaching with the StartGlocal team

We prepared a web form for you. Just enter the information you compiled during the first step (problem statement, solution, value proposition, customer segments) as well as important information about you and your studies at our university.

Send your application

Decision based on fair and comprehensible criteria

After your application was submitted, the StartGlocal team will discuss about your start-up idea to get a feeling for the topic and to understand how it fits to our university landscape and mission statement. Given that your application is promising, innovative and conforms to our requirements, we will join forces with you.

Your application has left open questions or does not meet all requirements? Let’s discuss your possibilities.

Your application conforms to all our requirements. We can start our coaching process with you.

Step 3

Develop your business plan and test your minimum viable product

The main tool in our coaching process is the business model canvas, which greatly simplifies the development of value and growth hypotheses for your start-up idea and helps to find appropriate ways to test them.

In parallel to gradually improving your business plan, we ask you to create and design a minimum viable product, a prototype that can be tested with potential customers. Of course, StartGlocal is at your side during the entire process.

Build, measure, learn - and repeat!

We will follow a circular, iterative process in which we repeatedly build the minimum viable product, measure its performance (validate hypotheses) and learn (leap of faith hypotheses).

Suitable legal form and potential start-up funding

Check (step) 1, 2, 3! However, there is one more decision to make for the final, fourth step. Depending on your specific idea and your business model, we will now discuss about a suitable legal form for your start-up and whether or not it would make sense to apply for start-up funding or scholarships. If necessary, we are also preparing a convincing pitch for your start-up idea together with you.

Step 4

Start your business

Be courageous and bring your innovative start-up to life! Let us guide you through the process to reach your goal eventually.

Start-up funding programs and scholarships

The StartGlocal team supports you in the application process for start-up funding programs and scholarships.

Gründerstipendium.NRW

The start-up grant provided by the state of North Rhine-Westphalia “Gründerstipendium.NRW” is a great opportunity to get your innovative business idea off the ground and become part of North Rhine-Westphalia’s regional start-up community. The Ministry of Economic Affairs, Innovation, Digitalisation, and Energy of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia supports founders and founding teams by providing a monthly grant of € 1,000 per person for a maximum of one year, bridging the gap between the end of your studies and the world of entrepreneurship.

EXIST-Gründerstipendium

The funding program “EXIST-Gründerstipendium” supports students, graduates and scientists from our university who are interested in founding a company. The start-up team receives an EXIST start-up grant for a period of 12 months to develop a business plan and prepare for their business start-up with the support of their university or research institution. The most important prerequisite is that the planned business idea must be an innovative technology-oriented or knowledge-based product with significant unique selling points and good prospects of economic success. Services are also eligible for funding under these conditions.

Get in contact with us

Do you have a specific question about our coaching process? Do not hesitate to let us know.

In vier Schritten zum Erfolg

Neben unseren bekannten StartGlocal Academy Workshops, Business Ideen-Wettbewerben und weiteren Start-up Veranstaltungen, die wir während des Semesters veranstalten, bieten wir durchgehend persönliche Start-up Coachings für unsere Studierenden und Mitarbeitenden an. Unsere Start-up Scouts sind in allen Fakultäten und Fachbereichen unserer Hochschule vertreten und ständig auf der Suche nach innovativen Ideen und motivierten Unternehmer*innen.

Eine Idee auf Papier zu bringen und einen ersten Prototyp zu erstellen, ist leichter gesagt als getan. Wir sind hier, um euch zu unterstützen! Wir arbeiten mit einem sich schrittweise entwickelten Coaching-Prozess, den ihr neben eurem Studium oder eurer Arbeit durchlaufen könnt.

Alles beginnt mit eurer Idee und dem Mut, darüber zu sprechen! Erzählt uns von eurer Idee, damit wir sie in ein funktionierendes Businessmodell verwandeln können.

Der wichtigste Schritt ist der Start

Ein Start-up gründen

Ihr habt eine innovative Idee?
Prima! Wir sind hier, um euch zu helfen.

Startet euer Business

In ein Start-up einsteigen

Ihr habt keine eigene Idee, möchtet aber gerne in einem Start-up mitarbeiten? Wir betreuen einen Moodle-Kurs mit ausgeschriebenen Projekten.

Zur Matchmaking Plattform

Schritt 1

Formuliert eure Idee

Erläutert eure Businessidee und beschreibt euer Projekt oder Dienstleistung. Wir bitten euch, eure innovative Idee, das Problem, das gelöst werden soll, die Lösung die ihr für dieses Problem habt, die Vorteile, die ihr euren Kunden anbietet und die Kundensegmente die ihr ansprechen wollt, zu spezifizieren.

Schritt 2

Bewerbt euch für ein Start-up Coaching

Wir haben ein Webformular für euch vorbereitet. Gebt einfach die Informationen, die ihr im ersten Schritt zusammengestellt habt (Problemstellung, Lösung, Nutzenversprechen, Kundensegmente) sowie wichtige Informationen über euch und euer Studium an unserer Hochschule ein.

Schickt uns eure Bewerbung

Entscheidungen auf Basis fairer und verständlicher Kriterien

Nachdem eure Bewerbung eingereicht wurde, bespricht das StartGlocal Team eure Start-up Idee, um ein Gefühl für das Thema zu bekommen und um zu verstehen, wie sie zu unserer Hochschule und unserem Leitbild passt. Vorausgesetzt, eure Bewerbung ist vielversprechend, innovativ und entspricht unseren Anforderungen, werden wir uns mit euch zusammenschließen.

Eure Bewerbung hat noch offene Fragen oder erfüllt nicht alle Anforderungen? Dann lasst uns eure Möglichkeiten besprechen.

Eure Bewerbung entspricht allen Anforderungen? Dann können wir mit unseren Coaching Prozess beginnen.

Schritt 3

Entwickelt euren Businessplan und erstellt euer erstes MVP (Minimum Viable Product)

Das Haupttool in unserem Coaching-Prozess ist das Business Model Canvas. Dieses Tool vereinfacht die Entwicklung von Wert- und Wachstumshypothesen für eure Gründungsidee  und hilft, geeignete Wege zu finden um diese zu testen.

Parallel zur schrittweisen Verbesserung eures Businessplans bitten wir euch, ein MVP, einen Prototyp, zu entwerfen, der von potentiellen Kunden getestet werden kann. Selbstverständlich steht euch das StartGlocal Team während des gesamten Prozesses zur Seite.

Bauen, testen, lernen – und wiederholen!

Wir werden einen zirkulären, iterativen Prozess folgen, in dem wir wiederholt das MVP bauen, seine Leistung testen (Hypothesen validieren) und lernen (Leap of Faith Hypothesen).

Geeignete Rechtsform und mögliche Start-up Finanzierung

Check (Schritte) 1, 2, 3! Für den letzten, vierten Schritt ist jedoch noch eine Entscheidung zu treffen. Abhängig von eurer konkreten Idee und eurem Businessmodel besprechen wir nun, welche Rechtsform für eurer Start-up geeignet ist und ob es sinnvoll ist, eine Start-up Finanzierung oder eine Förderung zu beantragen. Gegebenenfalls bereiten wir, gemeinsam mit euch, einen überzeugenden Pitch für eure Start-up Idee vor.

Schritt 4

Startet euer Business

Seid mutig und erweckt euer innovatives Start-up zum Leben! Lasst euch von uns durch den Prozess führen, um euer Ziel zu erreichen.

Gründungsförderprogramme und Stipendien

Das StartGlocal Team unterstützt euch bei der Beantragung von Gründungsförderprogrammen und Stipendien.

Gründerstipendium.NRW

Das “Gründerstipendium.NRW” des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen ist eine gute Möglichkeit, eure innovative Businessidee auf den Weg zu bringen und Teil der regionalen Gründer-Community in Nordrhein-Westfalen zu werden. Das Ministerium für Wirtschaft, Innovation, Digitalisierung und Energie des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen unterstützt Gründer und Gründerteams mit einem monatlichen Stipendium in Höhe von 1.000 € pro Person für maximal ein Jahr und überbrückt so die Lücke zwischen dem Ende des Studiums und der Welt des Unternehmertums.

EXIST-Gründerstipendium

Das Förderprogramm “EXIST-Gründerstipendium” unterstützt Studierende, Absolventen und Wissenschaftler unserer Hochschule, die an einer Unternehmensgründung interessiert sind. Das Gründerteam erhält für einen Zeitraum von 12 Monaten ein EXIST-Gründerstipendium, um mit Unterstützung eurer Hochschule oder Forschungseinrichtung einen Businessplan zu entwickeln und eure Existenzgründung vorzubereiten. Wichtigste Voraussetzung ist, dass es sich bei der geplanten Businessidee um ein innovatives technologieorientiertes oder wissensbasiertes Produkt mit wesentlichen Alleinstellungsmerkmalen und guten Aussichten auf wirtschaftlichen Erfolg handelt. Auch Dienstleistungen sind unter diesen Voraussetzungen förderfähig.

Tretet mit uns in Kontakt

Habt ihr eine spezielle Frage zu unserem Coaching-Prozess? Sprecht uns gerne an!